Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans

It is important to note the Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans, if you wish to successfully live in this environment, maybe conduct a business or settle down as a family.

The small details matters and that is why as you read through, we will enlighten you on Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans.

Nigeria comprises 36 states and one federal capital territory, forming a diverse political landscape. Each state operates as a semi-autonomous entity, sharing powers with the federal government in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) serves as Nigeria’s capital territory, housing the city of Abuja. While the FCT is not considered a state, it is governed by elected representatives who are accountable to the federal government.

Additionally, each state is further divided into local government districts known as Local Government Areas (LGAs).

In Nigeria, there exist a total of 774 local governments across the nation. Although the 36 states possess equal standing, they do not hold ultimate authority as sovereignty rests with the federal government. 

Amendments to the constitution can be made by the National Assembly; however, these changes require the support of at least two-thirds of the 36 states in the federation.

At present, Nigeria consists of 36 states, with the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) included. Below are the Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans.

Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans

Abia StateUmuahiaGod’s Own State
Adamawa StateYolaLand of Beauty
Akwa Ibom StateUyoLand of Promise
Anambra StateAwkaLight of the Nation
Bauchi StateBauchiPearl of Tourism
Bayelsa StateYenagoaGlory of all lands
Benue StateMakurdiFood Basket of the Nation
Borno StateMaiduguriHome of Peace
Cross River StateCalabarThe People’s Paradise
Delta StateAsabaThe Big Heart
Ebonyi StateAbakalikiSalt of the Nation
Edo StateBenin CityHeart Beat of Nigeria
Ekiti StateAdo EkitiLand of Honour and Integrity
Enugu StateEnuguCoal City State
Gombe StateGombeJewel in the Savannah
Imo StateOwerriEastern Heartland
Jigawa StateDutseThe New World
Kaduna StateKadunaCentre of Learning
Kano StateKanoCentre of Commerce
Katsina StateKatsinaHome of Hospitality
Kebbi StateBirnin KebbiLand of Equity
Kogi StateLokojaThe Confluence State
Kwara StateIlorinState of Harmony
Lagos StateIkejaCentre of Excellence
Nasarawa StateLafiaHome of Solid Minerals
Niger StateMinnaThe Power State
Ogun StateAbeokutaGateway State
Ondo StateAkureSunshine State
Osun StateOshogboThe State of the Living Spring
Oyo StateIbadanPace Setter State
Plateau StateJosHome of Peace and Tourism
Rivers StatePort HarcourtTreasure Base of the Nation
Sokoto StateSokotoSeat of the Caliphate
Taraba StateJalingoNature’s Gift to the Nation
Yobe StateDamaturuPride of the Sahel
Zamfara StateGusauFarming is Our Pride

State Creation in Nigeria

During Nigeria’s independence on October 1, 1960, the country consisted of three regions: the Northern Region, Western Region, and Eastern Region. In 1963, an additional region, the Mid-Western Region, was carved out from the Western Region.

However, in 1967, a military decree issued by then-Head of State General Yakubu Gowon replaced the regions with 12 states. This marked a significant transformation, altering the administrative divisions of the country.

Subsequently, in 1976, General Murtala Mohammed, the head of state at that time, introduced seven new states through another military decree, expanding the total to 19, including the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja.

The creation of Abuja involved sections of Kwara, Niger, Kaduna, and Plateau States, with Niger State contributing the majority of the landmass for the new federal capital.

In 1987, General Ibrahim Babangida, the military president, established two additional states: Akwa Ibom State, separated from Cross River State, and Kastina State, separated from Kaduna State. This development increased the total number of states to 21.

Continuing the trend, General Babangida went on to establish nine more states in 1991, bringing the total to 30.

Finally, in 1996, the then-military Head of State General Ibrahim Abacha introduced six additional states, making the current total of 36 states, a configuration that remains unchanged to this day.


knowing the slightest details on Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans can be interesting, you never know when this information can be needed.

We believe you’ve been able to familiarize yourself with the Nigerian 36 States and Capital and Their Slogans.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *